Welcome to the Iowa Division of Labor
Rod A. Roberts
The Iowa Division of Labor protects the safety, health and economic security of Iowans. Our programs protect people who ride on elevators, escalators and amusement rides. We protect the people who are in a building with a boiler or a pressure vessel, or an asbestos abatement project. We protect employees from dangers in the workplace and protect the right of an employee to be paid. We protect Iowa's children from dangers in workplaces, and limit their hours of work so they can focus on education.
In 2019 the Iowa legislature amended the child labor chapter to include additional “exceptions” from its requirements. Beginning July 1, the following are generally not required to comply with Iowa child labor law:
Upon a disaster emergency proclamation issued by the Governor, provisions exist in Iowa rules for expediting emergency response activities relating to asbestos removal. This includes modified provisions for ten-day notices and worker licensing. Ten-day notices may be filed no later than the working day following the initiation of the project. Additionally, there is an allowance for workers licensed in other states to perform asbestos work in Iowa without holding an Iowa license. To learn more about these provisions and their requirements please see
The Iowa Division of Labor has increased the $5,000.00 limit on wage claims.
Wage claims will now be accepted up to $6,500.00.
A new rule requires certain employers to electronically submit injury and illness records to Iowa OSHA via the Federal OSHA website. Establishments with 250 or more employees that are currently required to keep OSHA injury and illness records and establishments with 20-249 employees that are classified in certain industries must comply with thi